IPL 2019 Final: Didn’t watch the last ball, says Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani

first_img Chennai Top Batsmen Top Batsmen Match Ended 149/8 25 Point 2 0 Mid on covers third Man 100 8 149/8 – third Man All batsmen are considered right handed (20.0) Mid off All batsmen are considered right handed 8 run out (Krunal Pandya) 148/7 ( S. Thakur 20 Overs) , Kieron Pollard (MUM) K. Pollard (MUM) 0 Chennai CHE (20.0) Mid off 1 0 not out Mid on 15 Mid Wicket 2/14 (4) 73/3 ( A. Rayudu 10.3 Overs) , Mid Wicket r Mumbai MUM Fall of Wickets 0 0 1 5 3 6s Point 4 25 Mumbai beat Chennai by 1 run 13 Mid off 0 200 Match Ended Top Bowlers Top Bowlers 0 Deepak Chahar (CHE) D. Chahar (CHE) lbw b Lasith Malinga Mid Wicket 100 Point 0 Shane Watson S. Watson run out (Krunal Pandya) All batsmen are considered right handed Mumbai MUM st Quinton de Kock b Krunal Pandya w 3 0 covers Square Leg fine Leg 80 (59) Mid Wicket 41 (25) Mid off 135.59 Chennai CHE Mid off view more view less 49 Square Leg 1 0 39 14 Ambati Rayudu A. Rayudu c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah fine Leg Ravindra Jadeja R. Jadeja not out Scorecard Mid on c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah third Man fine Leg 59 Mumbai Bowling MUM Bowling Imran Tahir I. Tahir wd Mid Wicket Mitchell McClenaghan M. McClenaghan Square Leg All batsmen are considered right handed third Man Point Square Leg Mid Wicket IPL 2019 Final: Didn’t watch the last ball, says Mumbai Indians owner Nita AmbaniIPL 2019 final, MI vs CSK: After conceding 42 runs in his first 3 overs, Mumbai Indians pacer Lasith Malinga came up with the match-winning final over in which he gave away just 7 runs. Chennai Super Kings failed to win their 4th title after not managing to score 9 in the final over of their 150-run chase. lbw b Rahul Chahar Indian Premier League, 2019 Time: (GMT) | 19:30 (Local Time) fine Leg MS Dhoni (c)(wk) MS Dhoni (c)(wk) run out (Ishan Kishan) run out (Ishan Kishan) Mumbai 8 0 0 Indian Premier League, 2019 Jasprit Bumrah (MUM) J. Bumrah (MUM) fine Leg fine Leg 3.5 148/7 0 Dwayne Bravo D. Bravo c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah covers 146/6 ( S. Watson 19.4 Overs) , Series Status: Mumbai Indians wins the 2019 Indian Premier League Player Of The Match: Jasprit Bumrah Player Of The Series: Andre Russell 4 Rahul Chahar R. Chahar 15 1 0 Point 2 0 view full scorecard Square Leg Mid Wicket 148/7 B 4 vs 70/2 ( S. Raina 9.2 Overs) , Mid off 3 commentary 0 covers covers 3/26 (4) third Man fine Leg 80 6 0 Mid on Hardik Pandya H. Pandya Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND) Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Nitin Menon (IND) and Nigel Llong (ENG) 5 Lasith Malinga L. Malinga (20.0) Super Over 0 133/5 ( D. Bravo 18.2 Overs) , 14 4s 33/1 ( du Plessis 4 Overs) , 82/4 ( MS Dhoni 12.4 Overs) , 0 1 m Square Leg covers 4 24 Harbhajan Singh H. Singh Square Leg Extras: 9 runs (B: 5, LB: 0, WD: 4, NB: 0, P: 0) Faf du Plessis du Plessis st Quinton de Kock b Krunal Pandya covers Suresh Raina S. Raina lbw b Rahul Chahar 4 o 1 2 c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah third Man covers Mid off Mid on 1 Mid on Mid on Mid Wicket 0 0 Shane Watson (CHE) S. Watson (CHE) All batsmen are considered right handed All batsmen are considered right handed third Man Point 0 1 Shardul Thakur S. Thakur lbw b Lasith Malinga Square Leg 148/7 Toss: MUM elected to bat advertisement 26 0 1 13 Chennai batting CHE batting 4 third Man All batsmen are considered right handed Point 0 Indian Premier League, 2019, Final R Jasprit Bumrah J. Bumrah 57.14 0 e/r 3.5 S/R 12.25 No data available! 2 Mid on graphs 14 Mid off (20.0) All batsmen are considered right handed fine Leg 0 Krunal Pandya K. Pandya nb 3 0 0 2 100 Point Deepak Chahar D. Chahar (20.0) Akshay Ramesh HyderabadMay 13, 2019UPDATED: May 13, 2019 10:21 IST Nita Ambani said she couldn’t bear watching the last ball of the IPL final (Courtesy by BCCI)HIGHLIGHTSChennai Super Kings lost to Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2019 final by 1 runLasith Malinga defended 9 runs in the final over after leaking 42 in his 1st 3 overMumbai Indians became the 1st team to win four IPL titlesIt was a scrappy, error-prone match but the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 final between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians provided a lot of thrills to the viewers.Mumbai Indians clinched a 1-run win in the last-ball thriller at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad after pacer Lasith Malinga successfully defended 9 runs in the final over.As losing captain MS Dhoni pointed out, both teams were passing the trophy to each other as fielding and catching errors dominated the narrative.MS Dhoni himself was run out for 2 while trying to pinch an extra run after an overthrow in Chennai Super Kings’ chase of 150. On the other hand, Mumbai Indians dropped Shane Watson thrice as the CSK opener nearly snatched the game away from MI.Watson was run out in the 20th over of the match when CSK needed just 6 runs from 3 balls. When 2 runs were needed in the last ball, Lasith Malinga turned hero as the veteran pacer nailed a slower-ball yorker to trap Shardul Thakur in front.Umpire Nitin Menon who had missed what was arguably a straightforward wide call in Dwayne Bravo’s bowling against Kieron Pollard in Mumbai Indians’ final over got the LBW call spot on as replays showed the ball crashing onto the leg stumps.Unprecedented scenes from Hyderabad as @mipaltan became #VIVOIPL champs for the 4th time!Lasith Malinga showing his true class in the last over #MIvCSK pic.twitter.com/ZzVK0KHx5OIndianPremierLeague (@IPL) May 12, 2019Rohit Sharma breathed a sigh of relief as he ran towards the middle from the boundary ropes. Kieron Pollard took Lasith Malinga on his shoulders but the Chennai Super Kings dugout wore a disappointed look.advertisementNervous faces were a common sight on television screens as fans in the stadium were spotted praying during the tense final over.Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani was one of them as she was constantly seen praying from the stands in Hyderabad.Speaking after the thrilling win, Nita Ambani said she did not have the courage to watch the final over, let alone the final ball of IPL 2019 final.”The last over, definitely not [didn’t watch]. And definitely not the last ball. I was just going by the cheers of the fans to known what’s happening,” Nita Ambani said.Heaping rich praise on captain Rohit Sharma who maintained his 100 per cent record as Mumbai Indians captain in IPL finals, Ambani added: “All the times Rohit has been the captain in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. Congratulations for leading our team so beautifully.”Akash Ambani lauded Lasith Malinga’s ability to make a remarkable comeback in the final over after being taken to the cleaners in his first spell.”That’s Lasith Malinga for you. He’s the only bowler to have done it for 10-12 years now. He’s a special man in our team. I was just praying just a wicket off the last and nothing else,”Akash Ambani said.Reflecting on the success mantra of Mumbai Indians who have become the 1st team to win four titles, Akash added: “I think it’s the environment we create around the team, we treat the players like one family. We back them to the tee. I must credit the efforts of the coaching as well as the back-room staff.”Also Read | Rohit Sharma lauds Lasith Malinga for last-over heroics as MI win IPL 2019Also Read | It was a funny final, we kept passing the trophy to each other, says MS DhoniFor sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to indiatoday.in/sports. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Tags :Follow IPL 2019Follow MI vs CSKFollow IPL finalFollow Mumbai IndiansFollow Nita AmbaniFollow Lasith MalingaFollow Chennai Super Kingslast_img