Tylan Wallace, Chuba Hubbard Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

first_imgWhile you’re here, we’d like you to consider subscribing to Pistols Firing and becoming a PFB+ member. It’s a big ask from us to you, but it also comes with a load of benefits like ad-free browsing (ads stink!), access to our premium room in The Chamber and monthly giveaways.The other thing it does is help stabilize our business into the future. As it turns out, sending folks on the road to cover games and provide 24/7 Pokes coverage like the excellent article you just read costs money. Because of our subscribers, we’ve been able to improve our work and provide the best OSU news and community anywhere online. Help us keep that up. If Big 12 media days wasn’t enough to signify that college football season in on the horizon, the first of probably several preseason watch lists should drive the point home.On Monday, Tylan Wallace and Chuba Hubbard were announced as candidates to watch for the The Maxwell Award, given by the Maxwell Football Club to the college football player of the year.Wallace is no stranger to the limelight. He made it New York City last year as a Biletnikoff finalist after racking up 1,491 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns as a sophomore. The preseason all-Big 12 selection will look to build upon that this fall and will no doubt be a favorite target for whoever is taking snaps for OSU.Hubbard, his fellow preseason all-conference honoree came on a bit slower last season as the backup to Justice Hill, but showed his star potential in spurts before impressively spelling the injured Hill late in the year. Hubbard  averaged 106 yards per game and scored five ground TDs while starting the final four games of the season. He finished his freshman year with 740 rushing yards and seven scores on the turf as well as 229 yards and two touchdowns through the air.Fellow members of the watch list from the Big 12 are: Texas Tech QB Alan Bowman,  Baylor’s Charlie Brewer, Iowa State’s Brock Purdy, UT’s Sam Ehlinger, OU’s Jalen Hurts and CeeDee Lamb, TCU receiver Jalen Reagor abd Kansas State’s James Gilbert. Hubbard and Gilbert were the only to Big 12 rushers included.Barry Sanders is the only Cowboy to receive the award. He won it during his record-setting 1988 Heisman season.last_img